Erykah Badu, let me count the ways…

ErykahWhat happened to soul music? I mean, like Me’shell N’dege’Ocello talks about, “Remember back in the day/when everyone was black and conscious/down for the struggle?/that brought us all together…”–just check out her influences. Not like I know exactly what she’s talking about, but I know that hip-hop and Justin Timberlake seem to have taken over where Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Al Green, and Curtis Mayfield left off. Erykah Badu (and Lauryn Hill for that matter) mixes righteousness with deep beats and feminism that goes down so smoothly you can feel it in your toes, bringing depth back to the streets of NYC in its roots of grit to go further than pop-soul to simply “rock your body.” She’s even donating back to her community through her organization B.L.I.N.D. Don’t get me wrong, Justin’s got good beats, Dreamgirls had the pop…but where’s the struggle?

One thought on “Erykah Badu, let me count the ways…

Leave a Reply

