Keeping track of reading

I guess it’s no surprise, I read a lot. Unfortunately, I read all sorts of things that go unaccounted for, so when people ask, “What are you reading?” or “What have you read lately that’s good?” I usually am mixing book reviews liberally with what I have actually read. It’s a bit like DJ’s–no one really has time to listen to all that much music, but if you add reading to it, plus “dropping the needle” on a few tracks to see what they’re like, while adding in some additional information and insights from friends who recommend, plus the “guilty by association” qualities such as the publisher and author’s past works–you can make some pretty good estimates before you open it up.

So, now that I’ve begun keeping track of my reading on LibraryThing, I can see how much it really does add up. I’m remembering a site I saw way back called What I Have Read Since 1974 which I found incredibly awesome. Not only does he keep track of what, but when and where. If you’re a book addict, this site is the coolest. It’s a giant list which, if you read it carefully, you see the mnemonic stream of his life–his facination with certain genres in childhood which led to his eventual future become clear. Amazing.

I don’t think I’ll ever get to this point, but it’s going to be cool to see if LibraryThing pans out for the future, as it will be the coolest thing to see what I’m like over the next 30+ years via my reading!

6 thoughts on “Keeping track of reading

  1. librarything and similar websites are truly a must-have for bookworms, or even people who just occasionally read. i quite regret not ever recording the books i’ve read before such an invention, but it’s never to late to start keeping a record of books you’ve have.

    i look forward to the 10-year anniversary of my book recording!

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. Hey, sulz…thanks for posting. I’m currently working on the pop-political Obama book, The Audacity of Hope, and trying not to get too schmalzy. He’s a great, succinct, pointed speaker and writer.

    Thanks for the link, jenny, you’re always up on the what’s-next tip!

  3. Chad, this is nuts! How can you tempt with such desirable goodies when I have so many other things to do? And I don’t have enough time to read as it is!!

    I started a book list on my home computer a year ago and found I didn’t have time to keep up a simple typed list. Kept forgetting to update it. Had competition for use of the computer. Had committee work or paid work to do.

    Maybe a pad of lined paper would do the trick… Nah!

    — Chris M.

  4. I should have probably linked to my catalog in my post, but it seems like such a badge of honor that could be pinned on it. I like to think of it as a simple memory bank for my lost memories of what I’ve read…

    Oh, okay, here it is

Leave a Reply

