Change.gov

Is anyone following this on a regular basis?  I find Change.gov an interesting experiment in goverment–somewhere between a town hall and the fireside chat.  Thus reports the site:

Throughout the Presidential Transition Project, this website will be your source for the latest news, events, and announcements so that you can follow the setting up of the Obama Administration. And just as this historic campaign was, from the beginning, about you — the transition process will offer you opportunities to participate in redefining our government

Have you visited the site?  What was your impression?  Will this be a sign of the new administration’s greater openness?  Will this eleveate the discussion for all of us and create a sense of participation by the population which has been missing?

I feel like Ron Jeremy talking to his dog, Baxter, who claimed to have eaten an entire wheel of cheese: “No, I’m not mad; I’m impressed!”

2 thoughts on “Change.gov

  1. I had visited it for work a few times, but my first impression was political PR site. I go to a LOT of politician websites and this looks just like them. I really didn’t think of it as out of the ordinary, though I do like the whole “we’re already on the job” aspect. I was thinking that in recent memory, I don’t recall that ever happening. The site has a lot of options for user input but not really sharing–you can tell your story but no one can read it from what i can see? 1.0!

    Also, my first thought was about how .govs get assigned. Can you just get any .gov? I never thought about it, but I guess you can? Because that url seems an eentsy bit partisan for a govt website, to me.

    Also, not about this site specifically, but seriously does everything on every politician website have to be red, white, and blue to convince me they don’t hate ‘merica? I would totally vote for someone with and orange webpage. THAT’s change!

  2. Yeah, you nailed it on many of these points, Jenny. I, as an outsider to politics, really found it interesting that the .gov was actually playing an active role in the changing of the guard of the presidency. I mean, my contact with most of the government is through the GPO–so I’m kind of a dinosaur when it comes to government reaching out to me. It still seems shocking.

    As for the red, white, and blue, what can I say? Obama’s been wearing the pin even though he said it didn’t matter. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

