Saving the world (or not), one car at a time

Well, it looks like we’ll be getting a car.

I think somewhere in my mind I’ve worn the “I don’t have a car, and I’m saving the planet” badge and now I have to take it off. It seems to flow that environmentalism means not having a four-wheeled vehicle or else you’re contributing to the global environmental problem (though airplane rides contribute more). I’m trying to be positive about it, as much as possible, and also to diversify my methods of reducing my carbon footprint by eating less meat, shopping locally, and bicycling more (not to mention some other ways).

One of the downsides to hybrid cars, which we’re considering, is the lack of choice in models. We love the Honda Fit, though it’s a gas car, for its size and flexibility of inner layout, but would prefer a few more features (and a hybrid engine). Instead, we have the Prius which, to me, seems a bit bulky and, yet, the trimmer hybrids, such as the Civic Hybrid, Nissan Altima Hybrid, and the Toyota Camry Hybrid don’t have the trunk space. If you want any other styles or models (other than a hybrid SUV) good luck. You’d think, after the demand and high ratings, that companies would expand the choices, but it looks to be a few years away (thanks to the introduction of the hydrogen-powered vehicles), if ever. Looks like we’ll have to settle for one of the few choices out there.

One thought on “Saving the world (or not), one car at a time

  1. I wore my “I don’t have a car, and I’m saving the planet” badge for years, and now look at me… not one, but TWO cars.

    I wanted a used hybrid minivan a few years ago when I was preparing to buy a car – there’s still no such thing.

    It’s possible to get too caught up in wanting more choices – as if having the ability to buy any car wasn’t enough.

    Good luck with your decision. We’ll have to get new bumper stickers that say “WWJWD?” (What would John Woolman do?)

Leave a Reply

