Visiting ALA Anaheim

On Thursday, I’m heading to ALA in Anaheim to update my overall knowledge of libraries.  I’m particularly interested in Koha, the open source ILS which has been in development for a while.  It seems to have a pretty cool kid-friendly interface.  I’m also attending the AASL Standards for the 21st Century Learner pre-conference which I hope is going to come off as progressive, rather than a redux of Web 2.0 stuff or an update to Information Power. I’m hoping for some new research, forward-thinking planning and assessment, and not some milquetoast overview of “what all students should be requeired to know.”

One thought on “Visiting ALA Anaheim

  1. oh this is so sad! this is the 3rd time in 8 years i’ll not be going to ala and I am not used to other people going and me not. harumph! even though the sessions are never very useful for what i do, i like seeing friends!

Leave a Reply

